A background scan is always carried out whenever tuned to a channel (unless switched off, which is not advisable).
The background scan does a scan of the transponder you are tuned to, so all channels will be updated (if applicable). If you set the name of a channel yourself, and you want to keep that name (in case the transponder is emitting another name), just check "untouched by STB" is your settings editor.