You need to have the settings set to expert in customise menu, and then the software manager will allow you to tell it what to backup. You can then restore this.
Personally, I find it best to set it up from scratch, to ensure that there are no problems with plugins you no longer use leaving settings, or features which have been removed etc leaving settings...